World Cup Cricket 2019

World Cup Cricket 2019

World Cup of Cricket is one of the largest cricketing tournaments followed all over the world. This tournament is the grandest of all where all team fights each other for claiming the title of being the best in 50 overs cricket. The tournament will be recurring to the land of its origin in the year 2019. England will be performing as the hosts to the world cup tournament.

Host of the 2019 Cricket World Cup

The world cup will be hosted by England and Wales jointly and is scheduled to be played from 30th May to 15th July 2019. England last hosted this foremost tournament in the year 1999 and it was one of the most flourishing tournament which saw many twists. Australia later emerged as the champions in the competition and it will be appealing to see how the hosts execute in the tournament.

Primarily England and Wales put in a joint bid for the 2015 world cup. However after Australia was beaten out by a joint Asian bid for the 2011 tournament they were offered the hosting rights in 2015. England and Wales were assured the rights to 2019 if they agreed to withdraw their 2015 bid, which they promptly did.

In Summary:

  • Start Date: 30/05/2019
  • End Date: 15/07/2019
  • Host Country: England
  • Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule: The schedule of the tournament is still undecided but the opening match will be on 30/05/2019 and the ending cricket world cup match will be on 15/07/2019.

Qualification for the 2019 Cricket World Cup

Only 10 teams will be eligible for the 2019 world cup after a pronouncement was taken to reduce in size the size of the tournament. In 2011 and in 2015 the tournament had 14 teams but ICC has decided few nations will make for a enhanced competition. England will be eligible automatically because they are hosting, as will the top seven one day international nations according to the latest ICC rankings 6 months proceeding to the tournament. All test playing nations plus the two most flourishing associate members Afghanistan and Ireland will be eligible to qualify this way.


Teams Qualified for the 2019 Cricket World Cup

Automatically Qualifier: England

Current qualifiers based on current ICC One Day International rankings

  • Australia
  • South Africa
  • India
  • New Zealand
  • Sri Lanka
  • Bangladesh
  • Pakistan


Current participants in the 2018 World Cup qualification tournament based on current standings

  • The West Indies
  • Zimbabwe
  • Afghanistan
  • Ireland
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Netherlands
  • Hong Kong
  • Scotland


Potential qualifiers for the 2018 World cup qualification tournament

Kenya; Nepal; Nambia; Malaysia; Canada; UAE; Oman; Singapore; Uganda and United states of America.



While the fixture for the 2018 world cup has not yet been released. We do recognize a few of the venues which will host the marquee games of the tournament. Lords, the divine home of cricket will play host to the final while The Oval will probable host the opening game. The two semi-finals according to the English Cricket Board will be played at Edgbaston and Old Trafford. The London stadium is being vigorously considered to host the opening ceremony and potentially some group stage fixtures. The rest of the games will likely be played across England and Wales at the grounds which meet the ICCs size and capacity requirements. A list of these stadiums is below.